The Republic of Estonia is one of the three Baltic States. It has borders on the Baltic Sea and Gulf of Finland, as well as with Latvia and Russia.

Following the break up of the Soviet Union in 1991, Estonia regained its independence and is now a democratic semi-presidential parliamentary constitutional republic with one of the higher per capita income levels in the Baltic region and low public debt. It joined the EU in 2004 and the OECD in 2010, and adopted the euro as its currency in 2011.

Estonia’s terrain is diverse, with marshy lowlands, old growth forest, rocky beaches and many lakes. The country also includes more than 1,500 islands. Its population is fairly evenly distributed throughout the country, with the capital of Tallinn on the coast, as well as other urban areas, attracting more people. 

The country’s economy is challenged by a labour shortage, but recent changes to its immigration laws have allowed companies to hire more foreign workers. Estonia’s electronics and telecommunication sectors are key and the country has strong trade links with Finland, Sweden, Germany and Russia.

back to countries page