The Kingdom of Denmark is a Scandinavian nation with Baltic and North Sea coastlines. The country consists of the Jutland Peninsula, which lies to the north of Germany, as well as 443 named islands including Sjaelland, Fyn, and Bornholm. It is also linked by rail and motorway to nearby Sweden via the Øresund Bridge (8km) and Drogden Tunnel (4km).

It is low, flat country with gently rolling plains, with the greatest population density along coastal areas, particularly on the eastern side of the country's mainland and in the capital Copenhagen, which is home to the royal palaces and colourful Nyhavn harbour, plus the iconic ‘Little Mermaid’ statue.

Denmark is a modern, prosperous market economy, with a parliamentary constitutional monarchy. It joined NATO in 1949 and the EEC (now the EU) in 1973. However, the country has opted out of certain elements of the EU's Maastricht Treaty, including the Euro. It has a high-tech agricultural sector, advanced industry with world-leading firms in pharmaceuticals, maritime shipping and renewable energy. Danes enjoy a high standard of living, and the Danish economy is characterised by a generous government welfare system and an even distribution of income.

back to countries page